Often in life it is easy to feel lost or discouraged.  I have felt so myself in the past and sometimes still do. The feelings of depression and fear that come with discouragement can be paralyzing.  You might feel trapped or unable to act.  It can be very real.  It is frightening.  This is a tool that Satan uses against us.  He makes us feel inadequate and unworthy to be part of God’s kingdom.  Those feelings leave us feeling completely and hopelessly lost.

But we are never alone.  I was recently reminded of this while reading Elder Jeffrey R. Holland’s book, However Long and Hard the Road.  In it he recounts the story of Elisha while facing the Syrian army. With him was only one young man, and that young man was terrified.  The boy looked out and saw the host of Syrians and surely felt that he and an old man could do nothing against them. His cried, “Alas, my master! how shall we do?”

Elisha answered “Fear not: for they that be with us are more than they that be with them.”  He then turned his eyes toward heaven and said “Lord, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see.”  We are then told that “the Lord opened the eyes of the young man; and he saw; and, behold, the mountain was full of horses and chariots of fire round about Elisha.” The Lord did not leave his servants alone!  Rather, he had supplied them with an entire army of heavenly hosts!

Often I would find myself feeling the same fears as the young man in this story.  My faith would falter as I saw the road ahead of me. The idea of going out into the world and trying to live life was petrifying. I used to wonder how I would live in a world where more and more people thought it would be acceptable to live a homosexual lifestyle.  I had chosen not to live that life, but everywhere I turned there was another person urging me to “be who I was” and “accept my feelings”.  I felt like a gay lifestyle was almost being forced upon me and I had no choice.

But the Lord sent me good friends and leaders.  And who knows how many times I was able to rely on the help of more celestial beings.  Anytime you feel outnumbered or forgotten, remember these words from the Lord: “Ye are little children, and ye have not as yet understood how great blessings the Father hath in his own hands and prepared for you; and ye cannot bear all things now; nevertheless be of good cheer, for I will lead you along.” (D&C 78:17-18)

No matter what, the Lord is with us  in ways we can see and in ways that we cannot.  Always remember, “They that be with us be more than they that be with them”. In times of doubt turn to the Lord.  He will send the hosts of heaven to carry us.In Elder Holland’s words, “we need to remember that if our eyes could be opened, we would see horses and chariots of fire as far as the eye can see, riding at great speed to come to our protection. They will always be there.”

