I have recently taken a bit of time to see what the rest of the world thinks members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints believe about homosexuality. It has been a very frustrating thing for me.  There is a lot of misinformation and untruth.  I have decided to do few posts about these incorrect facts, and I hope to be able to clear them up.

Mormons believe that there is no such thing as homosexuality.
False.  Mormons and their Leaders know that homosexuality is a very real thing. Some of the comments I found said that Mormons think that straight men can become confused into being gay, but that no one can feel those feelings without consciously choosing to feel them.  This is false.  I do not believe that I am choosing to have these feelings.  I am attracted to men, but I am not choosing to be attracted to them. And while I am sure that there are SOME members of my faith that mistakenly believe that fact, the doctrine of our church says otherwise:

“Some kinds of feelings seem to be inborn. Others are traceable to mortal experiences. Still other feelings seem to be acquired from a complex interaction of “nature and nurture.” All of us have some feelings we did not choose, but the gospel of Jesus Christ teaches us that we still have the power to resist and reform our feelings (as needed) and to assure that they do not lead us to entertain inappropriate thoughts or to engage in sinful behavior.
Different persons have different physical characteristics and different susceptibilities to the various physical and emotional pressures we may encounter in our childhood and adult environments. We did not choose these personal susceptibilities either, but we do choose and will be accountable for the attitudes, priorities, behavior, and “lifestyle” we engraft upon them.” -Elder Dallin H. Oaks

He says it well.  We do not choose our feelings. This is a very real struggle.  He tells us that we are able to change through the doctrines of Jesus Christ. Never does he say that this is not real and that we are only “confused”.

Not long ago there was a Priesthood meeting in my Stake and the Stake President, our local presiding leader, spoke about same gender attraction.  One of the first things that he said was that same gender attraction is real.  People really are attracted to the same gender.  It was so good to know that the local leaders know the doctrine and share it readily.

So to wrap this up, yes. Homosexuality is real.  People do struggle with it. And every member that I have spoken with about this subject is equally aware of its reality. It is not a choice to feel this way, but I CAN choose my actions.

 

