One of my friends always seems to marvel at my life. “Your life must be so miserable.  I could never live like that”.  And you know what?  She probably couldn’t. She isn’t supposed to.

But you see, I am. And I can!  More and more I realize that.  I may not wish to be attracted to men, and yes it is sometimes very frustrating and even depressing, but it isn’t ruining my life.  On the contrary! It is enriching it!  I learn so much every day.  This trial has not taught me to be bitter, but to be hopeful and appreciative of change

We all have things we wish we had greater control over.  But if we obsess over the things that  are outside of our control we will go crazy and be miserable! I found these words by President Thomas S. Monson especially comforting.  If you have not read the talk, please do.

“Brothers and sisters, my sincere prayer is that we may adapt to the changes in our lives, that we may realize what is most important, that we may express our gratitude always and thus find joy in the journey.”

I am so grateful to my Savior Jesus Christ.  He brings me peace and takes my pain.  As I live according to his commandments, he comforts me and I don’t feel sad that I may be alone.  Because he is a constant and perfectly loving companion. This life is a beautiful journey , and  I enjoy it every day of my life.

