Recently, groups of members of the Church have been marching in Gay Pride parades. More and more, people are asking me what I think about it. So I want to share my thoughts.

First of all, I think it is great that members of the church want to show their love for people, especially the Gay Community. Too many people who are not members of our faith think that mormons HATE gays. This is not true. Yes, there are some people who do not like homosexuals at all, and possibly some local leaders who say that if you have these feelings you are a horrible person and cannot be a member.

But I promise you, these people are VERY MUCH in the minority. 99% of the people I have told about me have been very kind and loving and supportive. I am grateful for that. And too many people don’t know that Mormons do welcome gay people to come worship in our services! Don’t say they don’t, because I am one and I go to church with several Happy Homosexual Mormons!

So yes, I am glad that members are wanting to show support for their gay brothers and sisters.  But I feel a little uncomfortable with them marching in the gay pride parades. Why?  A few reasons.

While we still love those who are gay, we do not believe that God supports and condones a gay lifestyle. I think there is a difference between saying that “I love the people” and “I love what they do.” Marching in the parades seems to me to condone and support the message of the parades. The parades themselves are not conducive to the spirit. People are often dressed scantily, and are celebrating a very sexual lifestyle, which we do not agree with.

We believe that sex is a very sacred thing, and to make a parade out of it seems inappropriate. The marches are lewd, crude, and are not, as the 13th article of faith states, “If there is anything virtuous, lovely, or of good report or praiseworthy, we seek after these things.” It also states that we believe in being “chaste, benevolent, [and] virtuous.” These parades do not make me think of virtue or chastity.

Now these are my thoughts on the matter, but I have spoken about it with my bishop and others. They all agree that we should be loving and kind, but that does not mean that we have to turn our backs on our faith. We believe that “The family is ordained of God. Marriage between man and woman is essential to His eternal plan. Children are entitled to birth within the bonds of matrimony, and to be reared by a father and a mother who honor marital vows with complete fidelity.” -From The Family: A Proclamation to the World.

Walking with those in these parades does not, from what I have seen, support the things that are spoken of in the above mentioned Proclamation. Yes we should be tolerant and loving.  But I do not think that such tolerance should turn to support for things that we believe will not bring people true happiness. Parades will be marched. I just think that we need to find some other way to show our love and support.

I know that many think that I am “denying my true self” and living a lie.  But I can tell you that I have lived that lifestyle, and it was the biggest lie of all. I was unhappy.  I was angry.  I felt disconnected from God. I have found true peace and comfort in the Gospel of Jesus Christ.  He is the Savior of all mankind.  He makes it so I can be made perfect.  When I live by His precepts, I find joy and happiness, more so than I ever have with any man. And I know you can too.

