Twice a year I have the privilege of being uplifted and guided by the words of a Prophet of God, as well as His divinely appointed Apostles. We have just finished with the first session of the April 2013 General Conference and I have been uplifted and edified. It is a wonderful experience that fills me with the spirit of God and comforts my mind when troubled.  I have often been asked how I have the strength to withstand the temptations and desires I feel to seek out a male companion and live a gay lifestyle. To be honest, a lot of my conviction comes from the things I hear and feel during General Conference.

I believe firmly that this is the way that my Heavenly Father wants me to live. As I go through my life, I seek comfort and guidance through prayer with my Heavenly Father and through studying His scriptures. But every now and then, I become discouraged. It is a hard life to live. Many people that I know think that my decisions are foolish and misguided. They pressure me to give up what I believe in and just “be happy.”

It is times like this that I am grateful for the General Conference of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. Twice a year, without fail, I find my choices validated and confirmed. My confidence and convictions are strengthened because I know that those who are speaking are the messengers of the Lord Jesus Christ and His Father, the God of all creation. I stand by my choice to live a chaste life because they confirm that my desires are righteous and that my actions are worthy of receiving all that the Lord has to offer.

For those of you who seek for guidance or lack the strength and conviction to live what you believe, I invite you to come and listen to a Prophet’s voice. The words that he and the Apostles speak give me the strength I need to carry on. They will speak just to you. Come with a humble heart, and the Spirit of God will whisper guidance to your mind and peace to your soul.

